Skip to main content

Welcome, you are visiting TEAMS

TEAMS Resources

The Program Evaluation Standards: A Guide for Evaluators and Evaluation Users


Document introduction: This is a guide of program evaluation standards for evaluators and evaluation users. It is divided into five main categories:
1. Utility Standards
2. Feasibility Standards
3. Propriety Standards
4. Accuracy Standards
5. Evaluation Accountability Standards
Within each main category are subcategories with short explanations. The utility standards are intended to increase the extent to which program stakeholders find evaluation processes and products valuable in meeting their needs. The feasibility standards are intended to increase evaluation effectiveness and efficiency. The propriety standards support what is proper, fair, legal, right and just in evaluations. The accuracy standards are intended to increase the dependability and truthfulness of evaluation representations, propositions, and findings, especially those that support interpretations and judgments about quality. The evaluation accountability standards encourage adequate documentation of evaluations and a metaevaluative perspective focused on improvement and accountability for evaluation processes and products.
This guide could be used as a starting point for grantees and evaluators, and could also be consulted when questions arise during the evaluation process.